Walks in Roseberg State Forest

As we are still new to the area a fair proportion of my time is being taken up with exploring – looking at what plants grow where, what animals are about, the soil types, terrain and trail quality (for my mountain bike buddies and I).

This weekend I completed a couple of easy loops of one part of Roseberg State Forest and this is how it panned out!

PLEASE NOTE THAT PEOPLE ARE ALOWED TO HUNT IN THIS FOREST. DO NOT DRESS UP AS A WILD PIG OR FERAL CAT WHILE COMPLETING THIS WALK. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!

Loop:  Park at Custard Creek Trail Start then walk down Quartpot road to meet the Oaky Trail (2km),  Follow Oaky Trail to Boundary Trail, Walk Boundary Trail to meet Widows Trail. Walk up Widows Trail to meet Quartpot Road then walk back along to the car, taking care not to step on any road-kill along the way (there are always dead roos around here).

10km loop map

Distance: 10.54 Km – you can make it around 1.2KM shorter by taking the Custard Creek Fire Trail straight back to where your car is.

Gradient:  Very hilly!  250 metres climb which does pull the legs a little – it’s great the other way on a bike though 🙂

10km loop roseberg hills

Get-Lost-O-Meter:  People can get lost anywhere but generally speaking this is a very clearly marked route once you find the right starting trail (Oaky isn’t marked from the road, use a GPS).

2015-10-04 12.57.36

I really enjoyed this walk as it was pretty challenging in the leg department but still easy enough to take time out to enjoy the views. We saw wallabies and their babies and plenty of birdlife plus these interesting flowers and plants.

  1. Native Indigo – as a cosmetic chemist I was desperate to take this home and make some dye out of it but no, I decided to leave it for the bees this time.  Good girl Amanda 🙂

2015-10-04 13.26.34

2) I’ll have to come back to this one, no idea what it is but it was very pretty.2015-10-04 13.03.43

3) Oh how I love wattle!  We don’t have any like this on our land at the moment so I had a big case of wattle envy when I found this.  Not sure what type of Acacia this is exactly but I’ll get to it. The bushes were around 2 metres tall.

2015-10-04 12.19.31

4) I was pretty excited to see this sort of shrub growing so close to us too, I think it is a Myrtle – possibly the common fringe myrtle. I’m convinced you could get a good essential oil out of this baby!2015-10-04 12.15.11

5) Now I would LOVE to know what this is. Just look at the beautiful shape of that flower – it’s anthers look like fingers – could it be a finger flower, Cheiranthera alternifolia?

2015-10-04 12.14.02

If you can name what I’ve spotted please let me know as I’m all ears 🙂

Leave a Reply

