Death at Fox Hill Hollow

When looking out for a lovely country property to buy it always feels like a bonus to find a piece you like that is fully fenced.  This is particularly important if you plan to keep livestock on your property OR you want to secure your pets within your boundaries.

We purchased our land fully fenced but it was while doing our farm planning course last year that we realised our fence type was not great for Kangaroos due to the twin layer of barbed wire plus the metal wire underneath.  This can and does cause a trip hazard for young, old or panicked Kangaroos and Wallaby’s who, on becoming entrapped have to just hang around waiting for death to set in.

I have to admit that we had one such incident about a year after we purchased the property but by the time we turned up and found the leg remnants it was pretty easy to put the whole incident to the back of my mind and just get on with prioritising another job.  Sadly this weekend I saw disaster close up.

I’d only been on the property about 20 minutes when a walk down the fence line presented Maisy and I with this:

femce issueleg in the fence

Although I’m not overly sentimental about things like this I did feel sad when I thought of the pain and confusion the animal must have felt as it lay their trapped.  I only hoped that it wasn’t suffering for too long but really there is no way to tell, I wasn’t there.

I wonder if the fence situation has been made worse by the fact that in an attempt to deter the pigs we’ve closed off many of the routes out underneath the fence? I actually don’t know if the Roo’s ever creep under but maybe they and especially the little ones do…  In any case I have decided that next time we are out the fence wire is to be re-worked to make it more ‘roo friendly as while I’m going to probably regret being so Kangaroo loving when it comes to planting my tree saplings (the ‘roo’s do tend to make short work of eating them) I really don’t want to be confronted by death alley each time I rock up to the land.

So, that’s another job to add to the list and hopefully we can get to the fences before the fences get to any more Kangaroos oh and with regards to the pig barrier work we did, that looks to be working only now I’m slightly concerned that we may have trapped some pigs into the land – I just can’t find them yet…..

That’s country living for you.  Some good, some bad and some a little bit sad.

 

Leave a Reply

